212 McDermot Avenue
May 25, 2019Saturday: 9:30am - 5:00pm
The Lake of the Woods Building, erected in 1901 and expanded in 1911, was designed by one of Manitoba’s most prolific architects, J.H.G. Russell. Built in the Romanesque Revival style, the building’s remarkable exterior has an abundance of ornamentation. It is finished using red brick with Twin City brown sandstone accents, unique materials for the area. Many original interior elements also remain, including the vaults, hardwood floors, wood paneling, doors, the main staircase, and the upstairs boardroom and fireplace. Now owned by Mayberry Fine Art, the building houses a gallery specializing in historical and contemporary Canadian fine art.